The Physician who loved History…


Luke was by all means a diligent physician and well studied historian. I personally believed that Luke knew of the importance of capturing the events surrounding the actions of Jesus and His Apostles. I believe that he was acutely aware because of his love of history.

Luke was just close enough to not get caught up in the action. He was like the photographer that waits to catch his subjects at that perfect moment. No one has to tell the photographer, he just knows. For this reason, I believe that Luke understood that he was called upon to do more than serve as a healer to God’s people.

If anyone knew that his works would be later used to educate future Christians on the trials and tribulations it would have been Luke. However, Luke was guided by Peter and Paul on his quest. I have a newly minted respect for the task of the Apostles.

I get choked up when I think about the tremendous sacrifice they made. All of the travel, these men truly lived by:

9And let us not be weary in well doing: for in due season we shall reap, if we faint not. (Galatians 6:9, King James Version)

Luke’s love of history allowed us a deeper insight into the life of Jesus but more so into that of the chosen few who would suffer many things on His behalf. I am grateful to God for Luke and feel privileged that the Lord has allowed me to discern and understand the words written in Luke’s gospel.

Published in: on May 24, 2010 at 01:44  Leave a Comment  

Leave a comment